Me Before You Book Cover Me Before You
Me Before You
Jojo Moyes
Contemporary Romance; Romance
Penguin Books
December 31, 2012
eBook
385

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Ok, so here’s a confession.  I purchased this book on October 29, 2014. And….I just read it.  What in the hell was I thinking?  I kept putting it off.  I don’t know why, I just kept putting it off.  The original cover maybe? I don’t know.  Seriously, I’m really not sure but now that I’ve read it, I could kick my own ass for putting it off for so long.

Holy tear-jerker super-reader!  It wasn’t just a few pretty tears, this one was an UGLY cry.  I loved Louisa and Will so much.  I loved how she didn’t take his shit and I loved how she made him feel.  Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful – from beginning to end.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS.

Update: I waited forever but I finally rented the movie.  I’m ALWAYS leary of the movie of a great book, because in production it is almost always fucked up.  Too much is lost in translation and usually the characters don’t live up to my expectations on screen.  Anyway….this was one of the best book adaptations I have ever watched.  So now I HIGHLY RECOMMEND both the book and the movie.